Chapter 1: The Bedroom

Just ask my oh so sweet husband, yesterday’s purge was a painful process.

When it was finally done though!!! Wow!

For starters, I had no idea as to just how much stuff I’ve accumulated over the years. The ridiculous part is that I probably go through this need to downsize at least once or twice a year. My problem, and it is a problem, is that I keep replacing the stuff. Not this time!! This time it’s literally not an option, and I think that’s great. I’m looking around the bedroom and trying to decide if I’ve really rid myself of everything that I could have. It looks a lot better, and is definitely more peaceful. I can sit at my desk and type up this post without distraction. Normally, I’m posting from my cell phone, on the couch while watching cartoons.

According to Gail’s book, my fifty things can not be individual items. Meaning, if I decide to give away three of my old stuffed animals, that doesn’t count as three items; that’s only one. Thus making you purge more than what you were planning on. On that note, here’s my current tally…

  • Lots of Craft Supplies
  • 3 Stuffed Animals
  • 1 Shirt
  • 5 Books
  • Countless Stationary
  • 2 Bags

So my GRAND TOTAL is: 6/50

Later today, I’ll be tackling the bathroom and hall closet. For now though, I think I’ll wrap up here and head out for a run. By run, I mean walk with a slight chance of jogging. Whatever, it’s better than sitting on the couch.

Leave a Reply

